Irving ISD is proud to be recognized by the Texas Association of School Business Officials (TASBO) with a 2023 Award of Merit for Purchasing Operations. The Award of Merit was established in 2009 to recognize Texas school districts that are committed to following professional standards in the acquisition of goods and services. 

Each year, volunteers with the TASBO Purchasing & Supply Management Research Committee evaluate the award criteria to ensure it represents the latest best practices. They then review new and recertification applications. For 2023, only 71 recipients met the stringent criteria to qualify for the award, and Irving ISD is proud to be among that number. 

“Congratulations to everyone in the Purchasing Department,” says Superintendent Magda Hernandez. “While it’s an honor to win the award, it’s just another example of the dedication our employees put in each day to fulfill the district’s mission of achieving an exemplary education for our students.”

Members of the district’s purchasing team were honored at an awards reception sponsored by BuyBoard Purchasing Cooperative in San Antonio during the 2023 TASBO annual conference on February 15. 

Members of Irving ISD’s Purchasing team are:

  • Jerome Pilgrim, Director of Purchasing
  • Luis Rosado, Assistant Director of Purchasing
  • Brenda Anderson, Buyer
  • Jennifer Bryan, Buyer
  • Adrianna Legarreta, Buyer
  • Dana Paula, ESSER Buyer
  • Cindy Williamson, Secretary